A place to appreciate the many things in my life that I am thankful for

Remembering to be Grateful

It’s hard to believe that I started this blog just under two years ago. And it’s hard to believe that I have neglected it so. It feels like there’s always an excuse not to write. The last time I blogged seriously was in March of 2012. Since then I have posted a mere four times, each time vowing that I would get back to blogging. I’d like to say that this time will be different and I will be more consistent, etc, etc, but I’m not going to do that. The fact is that I have a busy and full life and maybe blogging just isn’t my thing. I have said before that I don’t have a lack of hobbies – there are actually so many things that interest me that I just don’t have time to fit them all in! All this to say that what I really want to get back to is taking the time to find something that I’m grateful for every day.

Today was an EXTREMELY difficult day with my little monkey and I honestly felt like banging my head against a wall on more than one occasion. At two and a half, he’s a handful. He’s had a really bad cold and a touch of the flu recently and was particularly clingy with me and wasn’t listening to anything Chris and I said. Add to the mix that Chris and I have both been under the weather and I had a headache for most of the day and you have one very frustrating day. Did I mention that in the short time Nathan actually napped that I sat down with a cup of tea, only to have the cat jump on me, causing me to drop the full cup and give myself a minor burn? Oh yeah, it was quite the day.

Now Chris is at the climbing gym and I managed to give Nathan a bath and get him to bed without too much difficulty, thank goodness. So I thought I would write to remind myself to look for the positive things. I have so much to be grateful for. I have a wonderful family (even when they drive me crazy), great friends, a wonderful home, a good job… So no matter how difficult my day is I need to keep perspective. I need to remember that I am one of the lucky ones.

So that’s all for today. More general than I would like to be, but that’s okay.

Oh and Happy New Year everyone!

Leave a Reply

